Britbike forum

Classic British SparesKlempf British PartsBaxter CycleBritBike Sponsor SteadfastCyclesThe Bonneville ShopLowbrow CustomsGirling Classic MotorcycleLucas Classic MotorcycleHepolite PistonsIndustrial tec supply Classic Bike Parts Cheshire

Upgrade Your membership! Premium Membership Gold Membership Vendor Membership

New Sponsor post
July 4th Sale at The Bonneville Shop
by The Bonneville Shop - 07/01/22 6:26 pm
New FAQ post
Member Spotlight
TR6Ray
TR6Ray
Illinois, USA
Posts: 2,665
Joined: May 2010
ShoutChat
Comment Guidelines: Do post respectful and insightful comments. Don't flame, hate, spam.
Top Posters(30 Days)
quinten 61
DavidP 57
kevin 53
Top Likes Received (30 Days)
Cyborg 23
Lannis 20
Newest Members
BrokenLeg, Jeff Keller, Steveland, Daideo, kenjon
12,210 Registered Users
Who's Online Now
3 members (Hugh Jörgen, Guy, Shane in Oz), 21 guests, and 34 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums35
Topics76,535
Posts776,186
Members12,210
Most Online204
Jul 10th, 2022
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#869015 01/14/22 9:50 am
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 4,387
Likes: 28
D
dave j Offline OP
Britbike forum member
OP Offline
Britbike forum member
D
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 4,387
Likes: 28
I managed to damage the green yellow/ wire on the stretch from my alternator to the rectifier whilst trying to remove the harness tape. I have cut only two strands of the copper wire inside.

Could I leave this and put a bit of heatshrink on it ?

Or could I strip back the insulation slightly and run some solder over the damage and then use heat shrink?

Lastly I have some thinwall green/ yellow wire rated 16.5 amps with which I could replace it. Is this an adequate rating for this point?

Thanks

British motorcycles on eBay
Joined: May 2013
Posts: 8,756
Likes: 266
A
Britbike forum member
Offline
Britbike forum member
A
Joined: May 2013
Posts: 8,756
Likes: 266
The 16.5amp thin wall is more than adequete. the standard RM21 is only about 10.5amp at total output.

Depending on where the break is along the wire, If its in a visible area after it has exited the crank case for example, I would fit some terminals and then wire upto the rectifier.


Now let’s all have a beer beerchug

68’ A65 Lightning “clubman”
71’ A65 823 Thunderbolt (now rebuilt)
67’ D10 sportsman (undergoing restoration)
68’ D14 trials (undergoing transformation)

Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,409
Likes: 88
L
Britbike forum member
Offline
Britbike forum member
L
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,409
Likes: 88
Originally Posted by dave jones
Lastly I have some thinwall green/ yellow wire rated 16.5 amps with which I could replace it. Is this an adequate rating for this point?

If you check the stator (and other harness) wires then you should find they contain 14 strands of 0.0108"/0.274mm copper wire (14/32 SWG) that has a rating of approximately 8 (8.3?) Amps.

The modern metric equivalent standard PVC is 14/0.30 (14 strands of 0.30mm diameter) 1 sq. mm., 8.75 Amp.

https://www.vehiclewiringproducts.co.uk/p-1020-8-75amp-1mm-sq-14-0-30

Joined: May 2013
Posts: 8,756
Likes: 266
A
Britbike forum member
Offline
Britbike forum member
A
Joined: May 2013
Posts: 8,756
Likes: 266
Originally Posted by L.A.B.
Originally Posted by dave jones
Lastly I have some thinwall green/ yellow wire rated 16.5 amps with which I could replace it. Is this an adequate rating for this point?

If you check the stator (and other harness) wires then you should find they contain 14 strands of 0.0108"/0.274mm copper wire (14/32 SWG) that has a rating of approximately 8 (8.3?) Amps.

The modern metric equivalent standard PVC is 14/0.30 (14 strands of 0.30mm diameter) 1 sq. mm., 8.75 Amp.

https://www.vehiclewiringproducts.co.uk/p-1020-8-75amp-1mm-sq-14-0-30


The thin wall wire which Dave already has at 16.5amp will be roughly the same total thickness of the 8.75 amp wiring. Since he already has it (and I assume in the correct colours) he isn't hurting anything by using it)


Now let’s all have a beer beerchug

68’ A65 Lightning “clubman”
71’ A65 823 Thunderbolt (now rebuilt)
67’ D10 sportsman (undergoing restoration)
68’ D14 trials (undergoing transformation)

Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,409
Likes: 88
L
Britbike forum member
Offline
Britbike forum member
L
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,409
Likes: 88
Originally Posted by Allan G
The thin wall wire which Dave already has at 16.5amp will be roughly the same total thickness of the 8.75 amp wiring. Since he already has it (and I assume in the correct colours) he isn't hurting anything by using it)

I agree. You posted as I was typing so I wasn't suggesting he use 14/0.30mm only that the original and modern equivalent amp rating was/is considerably lower than 16.5A (thin wall).

1 member likes this: Allan G
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 4,387
Likes: 28
D
dave j Offline OP
Britbike forum member
OP Offline
Britbike forum member
D
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 4,387
Likes: 28
Thanks Allan and LAB. I suppose it would be most sensible to change the whole wire as you say that the new stuff is adequate for the job. It would be the stretch from the bullet connector under the engine to the rectifier.

Last edited by dave jones; 01/14/22 10:42 am.
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 4,387
Likes: 28
D
dave j Offline OP
Britbike forum member
OP Offline
Britbike forum member
D
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 4,387
Likes: 28
I have now gathered my earth leads from the zener, rectifier, frame and headlamp,etc, to a common point at the mounting for the rectifier as suggested on R F Whatley's site. When it comes from going from this point to the battery via the 35a fuse is 16 amp wire ok? I could use two together. When the fuse was on the negative side the original single wire was ok.

Dave

Last edited by dave jones; 01/18/22 5:57 pm.
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,409
Likes: 88
L
Britbike forum member
Offline
Britbike forum member
L
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,409
Likes: 88
Originally Posted by dave jones
When it comes from going from this point to the battery via the 35a fuse is 16 amp wire ok?

Yes. The fuse must be the 35A blow (17.5A continuous) type and the 35A blow fuse is used with original 14/32 8A wiring.

[Linked Image from i.postimg.cc]

The modern equivalent fuses (blade fuses etc.) are 15A or 20A as they are continuous rated.


Originally Posted by dave jones
I could use two together. When the fuse was on the negative side the original single wire was ok.

The side of the battery the fuse is on makes no difference to the amp rating.

Last edited by L.A.B.; 01/18/22 6:31 pm.
1 member likes this: Allan G
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 4,387
Likes: 28
D
dave j Offline OP
Britbike forum member
OP Offline
Britbike forum member
D
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 4,387
Likes: 28
Thanks L.A.B.
I suppose it was a bit of a silly question as the current must be the same on both negative and positive sides of the battery. If the old negative wire has always taken it then the single 16 amp will certainly be ok.
Dave

Joined: May 2013
Posts: 8,756
Likes: 266
A
Britbike forum member
Offline
Britbike forum member
A
Joined: May 2013
Posts: 8,756
Likes: 266
If your putting a fresh fuse lead in (say a bladed type) these often come with a red wire attached. Feel safe putting this on the “earth” side fro my out common grounding point back to your battery. A 15amp fuse is
More than adequate for the most complex of wiring.

If you have a reg/Rec with inbuilt capacitor ie the Boyer power box, this will need fusing also between that and the next thing the wire touches.

You also won’t go far wrong with a 3amp fuse for you electronic ignition if you are fitting one of those. This will protect that unit at a lower amp rate without effecting other components which require more current draw.


Now let’s all have a beer beerchug

68’ A65 Lightning “clubman”
71’ A65 823 Thunderbolt (now rebuilt)
67’ D10 sportsman (undergoing restoration)
68’ D14 trials (undergoing transformation)

Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 4,387
Likes: 28
D
dave j Offline OP
Britbike forum member
OP Offline
Britbike forum member
D
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 4,387
Likes: 28
Allan- Thanks. My fuse is a glass one with metal ends and a single wire inside marked 35 amp similar to the one in LAB's photo but without a continuous rating marked. Is this fuse ok? It is the type that has always been in there. I have noticed that the paper rating label inside has looked a bit scorched sometimes in the past but the fuse hasn't blown in normal use.

I will be re wiring my old original type fuse holder with the thin wall 16.5 amp wire. I have points, zener and one of those little square solid state rectifiers so I don't think I need any extra fuses.

Dave

Last edited by dave jones; 01/19/22 9:07 am.
Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 11,654
Likes: 260
Britbike forum member
Offline
Britbike forum member
Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 11,654
Likes: 260
Quote
Is this fuse ok?

Yes, but the fuse holder it uses is prone to faults so all of mine are now modern blade fuse holders. 15 amp fuse in a 3 phase equipped Commando worked even with 60W halogen bulb,

Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,409
Likes: 88
L
Britbike forum member
Offline
Britbike forum member
L
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,409
Likes: 88
Originally Posted by dave jones
My fuse is a glass one with metal ends and a single wire inside marked 35 amp similar to the one in LAB's photo but without a continuous rating marked. Is this fuse ok?

Not all 'Blow' rated fuses show the continuous rating, unfortunately.

https://www.vehiclewiringproducts.c...breakers/p-675-glass-cartridge-fuse-30mm


The fuse wire thickness should give you an idea if compared to a known 35A blow fuse. If in doubt, replace or change to a blade type fuse and holder as kommando says.

Joined: May 2013
Posts: 8,756
Likes: 266
A
Britbike forum member
Offline
Britbike forum member
A
Joined: May 2013
Posts: 8,756
Likes: 266
Originally Posted by kommando
Quote
Is this fuse ok?

Yes,

I respectfully disagree


Originally Posted by L.A.B.
Originally Posted by dave jones
My fuse is a glass one with metal ends and a single wire inside marked 35 amp similar to the one in LAB's photo but without a continuous rating marked. Is this fuse ok?

Not all 'Blow' rated fuses show the continuous rating, unfortunately.

https://www.vehiclewiringproducts.c...breakers/p-675-glass-cartridge-fuse-30mm


The fuse wire thickness should give you an idea if compared to a known 35A blow fuse. If in doubt, replace or change to a blade type fuse and holder as kommando says.

Agreed. If it only has one value, then this will might be the continuous rating or the blow. If unsure, get one that says 15amp. If it pops when you turn the lights on then it’s either too small or more likely you have a short. 15amp is More than ample. As Kommando said with the rest of his comment.

Originally Posted by kommando
the fuse holder it uses is prone to faults so all of mine are now modern blade fuse holders. 15 amp fuse in a 3 phase equipped Commando worked even with 60W halogen bulb,

Those glass fuse holders can work well for years then let you down at the last minute. (Mine failed just as I loaned the bike to a mate, not his fault
But the poor fellow got stranded) I switched to a blade immediately after.

Also if you get one with the red wiring (check the rating on the wires, no point if it’s got wiring capable of 5amp, that’ll fail before the fuse will.) it’ll fit happily on the return side and also cut down on bits of joined up wiring on the live side.

Last edited by Allan G; 01/19/22 8:02 pm. Reason: Miss interpreted LABs post

Now let’s all have a beer beerchug

68’ A65 Lightning “clubman”
71’ A65 823 Thunderbolt (now rebuilt)
67’ D10 sportsman (undergoing restoration)
68’ D14 trials (undergoing transformation)

Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,409
Likes: 88
L
Britbike forum member
Offline
Britbike forum member
L
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,409
Likes: 88
Originally Posted by Allan G
As LAB said. If it only has one value, then this will be the continuous rating.

No, that wasn't what I said. A 1 1/4"/31mm glass fuse marked 35A can certainly be the blow rating.

The fuse rating can also be stamped on the metal end cap .

https://www.ebay.ie/itm/2x-35A-BLOW...-CAR-MOTOR-FUSE-6-3-x-31mm-/382856091018
"These 35A fuses are marked according to the modern Lucas regime (metric / post decimalisation) system whereby the marked rating is the BLOW rating and the continuous rating is half that marked (17/17.5A (Amp) CONTINUOUS)"

https://www.triumph-spares.co.uk/35-amp-glass-fuse-fuse35
https://rrsl.co.uk/product/fuse35a-1-1-4-glass-fuse-35a-blow/

Last edited by L.A.B.; 01/19/22 3:55 pm.
1 member likes this: Allan G
Joined: May 2013
Posts: 8,756
Likes: 266
A
Britbike forum member
Offline
Britbike forum member
A
Joined: May 2013
Posts: 8,756
Likes: 266
Originally Posted by L.A.B.
Originally Posted by Allan G
As LAB said. If it only has one value, then this will be the continuous rating.

No, that wasn't what I said. A 1 1/4"/31mm glass fuse marked 35A can certainly be the blow rating.

The fuse rating can also be stamped on the metal end cap .

https://www.ebay.ie/itm/2x-35A-BLOW...-CAR-MOTOR-FUSE-6-3-x-31mm-/382856091018
"These 35A fuses are marked according to the modern Lucas regime (metric / post decimalisation) system whereby the marked rating is the BLOW rating and the continuous rating is half that marked (17/17.5A (Amp) CONTINUOUS)"

https://www.triumph-spares.co.uk/35-amp-glass-fuse-fuse35
https://rrsl.co.uk/product/fuse35a-1-1-4-glass-fuse-35a-blow/

Sorry buddy, I’ll amend that.

Changes in regulation don’t help, the ones you can pickup from almost any fuel station (least in the UK) will indicate the continuous rating. You may find some stated otherwise in such places. But again I’d Stick the 15 amp in and see if anything blows immediately.

I try and stress using the lower rating due to my own experiences. Having had a bike where the PO used a 35 amp (blade in this case) fuse.


Now let’s all have a beer beerchug

68’ A65 Lightning “clubman”
71’ A65 823 Thunderbolt (now rebuilt)
67’ D10 sportsman (undergoing restoration)
68’ D14 trials (undergoing transformation)

Joined: Sep 2013
Posts: 3,830
Likes: 269
Q
Britbike forum member
Online Happy
Britbike forum member
Q
Joined: Sep 2013
Posts: 3,830
Likes: 269
[Linked Image from accessnorton.com]
old stock Lucas fuses used colour coded paper along with printed ratings .
the 17.5/35 A was white , ( the instantaneous blow rating was 40 amps )
[Linked Image from cimg1.ibsrv.net]

if i was concerned with reliability i would not use an old fuse ... or old fuseholder .
.

1 member likes this: Allan G
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 4,387
Likes: 28
D
dave j Offline OP
Britbike forum member
OP Offline
Britbike forum member
D
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 4,387
Likes: 28
Lots of good info from all about fuses. I hope mine is a blow at 35 with a continuous rating of half that. It does have a white label. Anyway, no damage done caused by the fuse but I had better get some more to make sure.

Dave

Last edited by dave jones; 01/20/22 8:38 am.

Moderated by  Jon W. Whitley 

Link Copied to Clipboard
British Cycle SupplyMorries PlaceKlempf British PartsBSA Unit SinglesPodtronicVintage MagazineBritBike SponsorBritish Tools & FastenersBritBike Sponsor






© 1996-2022 britbike.com
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5