Britbike forum

Classic British SparesKlempf British PartsBaxter CycleBritBike Sponsor SteadfastCyclesThe Bonneville ShopLowbrow CustomsSRM EngineeringGirling Classic MotorcycleLucas Classic MotorcycleHepolite PistonsIndustrial tec supply



BLACK FRIDAY MEMBERSHIP OFFER 2021



50 % DISCOUNT ON ALL OPTIONS!!!


Upgrade your membership: Premium Membership Gold Membership Life Membership

50 % DISCOUNT ON ALL OPTIONS!!!



New Sponsor post
The BLACK FRIDAY SALE is here!
by The Bonneville Shop - 11/23/21 5:29 pm
New FAQ post
How to find my own threads?
by reverb - 11/20/21 3:55 pm
Manuals on DVD - Buy 4 for 3
All 4 DVD Manual
Member Spotlight
umjwh
umjwh
Lowell, Ind
Posts: 53
Joined: February 2006
ShoutChat
Comment Guidelines: Do post respectful and insightful comments. Don't flame, hate, spam.
Top Posters(30 Days)
Rohan 74
NickL 73
Top Likes Received (30 Days)
Newest Members
Gus_Carrero, mogmike, Julian1966, BSACliff, Bezza Frank
11,920 Registered Users
Who's Online Now
3 members (Magnetoman, Tridentman, Doug P), 23 guests, and 20 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Joined: Oct 2011
Posts: 26
J
jesslp Offline OP
Britbike forum member
OP Offline
Britbike forum member
J
Joined: Oct 2011
Posts: 26
Hello everyone!

Well, I’ve just purchased my 3rd A65. It is a 1970 lightning from what I can tell. My question is

The battery was removed and the po had a capacitor. I am switching back to a battery.

On the Tympanun there are two yellow wires going to the stator, one red wire going to ground and

from that ground the red wire continues to the capacitor. Then a black wire from the tympanum going

to the capacitor. If I remove the capacitor and take the red wire to + batt from ground and the black wire

to - batt would my job be done?

Thanks for all the advice

BSA on eBay
Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 5,694
Likes: 80
M
Britbike forum member
Offline
Britbike forum member
M
Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 5,694
Likes: 80
Yes, the capacitor is hooked up in place of the battery. Don't forget to fuse the battery - I like my fuse to be between battery (+) and ground. Don't mess with glass fuses; they have nice inline fuse holders for those square fuses as used in today's automobiles; look in Autozone or your favorite auto parts supplier.


Mark Z

'65(lower)/'66(upper, wheels, front end, controls)/'67(seat, exhaust, fuel tank, headlamp)/'70(frame) A65 Bitsa.
1 member likes this: Allan G
Joined: Oct 2011
Posts: 26
J
jesslp Offline OP
Britbike forum member
OP Offline
Britbike forum member
J
Joined: Oct 2011
Posts: 26
Thank you Mark

Joined: May 2013
Posts: 8,267
Likes: 191
A
Britbike forum member
Offline
Britbike forum member
A
Joined: May 2013
Posts: 8,267
Likes: 191
Originally Posted by Mark Z
Yes, the capacitor is hooked up in place of the battery. Don't forget to fuse the battery - I like my fuse to be between battery (+) and ground. Don't mess with glass fuses; they have nice inline fuse holders for those square fuses as used in today's automobiles; look in Autozone or your favorite auto parts supplier.

+1.

If the capacitor is working ok, I would be inclined to keep the cap in circuit. again, if you haven't already I would put a fuse between the cap and earth or feed side of the loom (either is fine, but I would do it the same as what you have done with the battery).


Now let’s all have a beer beerchug

68’ A65 Lightning “clubman”
71’ A65 823 Thunderbolt (now rebuilt)
67’ D10 sportsman (undergoing restoration)
68’ D14 trials (undergoing transformation)

Joined: Aug 2021
Posts: 36
Likes: 1
B
Britbike forum member
Offline
Britbike forum member
B
Joined: Aug 2021
Posts: 36
Likes: 1
Jessip, your existing setup is positive ground and if everything is working ok then you might want to consider remaining positive ground. Your proposed swap changes the polarity of your electrical system. Any diode that is installed and intended to pass current with the existing positive ground will no longer do so when the polarity of the system is swapped.

Hey, you may already know you are swapping polarity, but maybe not.

Joined: Sep 2013
Posts: 3,436
Likes: 154
Q
Britbike forum member
Offline
Britbike forum member
Q
Joined: Sep 2013
Posts: 3,436
Likes: 154
Originally Posted by Bustednukel
Jessip, your existing setup is positive ground and if everything is working ok then you might want to consider remaining positive ground. Your proposed swap changes the polarity of your electrical system. Any diode that is installed and intended to pass current with the existing positive ground will no longer do so when the polarity of the system is swapped.

Hey, you may already know you are swapping polarity, but maybe not.

he has not proposed changing the ground .
He is only swapping a polarized capacitor... wired pos. ground
For a polarized battery ... also wired pos. ground

The capacitor can live without a battery ... pre-existing condition.
The capacitor can live in parallel with a battery .... an option
A battery can live without a capacitor ... the plan

Plus is wired to ground , for both capacitor and battery .

Joined: Aug 2021
Posts: 36
Likes: 1
B
Britbike forum member
Offline
Britbike forum member
B
Joined: Aug 2021
Posts: 36
Likes: 1
quinten, hey! You are right.


Moderated by  Allan G, Jon W. Whitley 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Job CycleBritish Cycle SupplyMorries PlaceKlempf British PartsPodtronicVintage MagazineBSA Unit SinglesBritBike SponsorBritish Tools & FastenersBritBike SponsorBritBike Sponsor






© 1996-2021 britbike.com
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5