Classic British SparesKlempf British PartsBaxter CycleBritBike Sponsor SteadfastCyclesSRM EngineeringLucas Classic MotorcycleHepolite PistonsIndustrial tec supply

Upgrade your membership to: Premium Membership | Gold Membership | Life Membership | Vendor Membership | Site Sponsor Membership
Welcome to BritBike Forum!
Britbike forum logo
Member Spotlight
Gordon Gray
Gordon Gray
North Carolina
ShoutChat
Comment Guidelines: Do post respectful and insightful comments. Don't flame, hate, spam.
Search eBay for motorcycle parts in following countries
Australia, Canada, France, Holland, Italy, United Kingdom, USA
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 2 of 2 1 2
B
Britbike forum member
Britbike forum member
B
Hi TR7RV man. I forget what to call you for short. This is my first time here, and as chance would have it, you described my last problem perfectly. A slipping clutch that is not discernible in any other way will make the bike very hard to kick start even by Igor. It is very hard to believe but it is true, and it caused me so many difficulties, including falling on my head and breaking stuff.

Bob, Lifetime bike: '71 T120R, bought in '71 at Ken Heanes, England.
Support Your #1 BritBike Forum!

Check out British motorcycles for sale: British Motorcycles on e-Bay UK, British motorcycles on e-Bay North America
T
Britbike forum member
Online Content
Britbike forum member
T
Hi by our, Thanks for bringing that up. Odd how one often doesn’t feel or perceive clutch slipping.

My hunch is they slip slows flywheel during compression. This can lead to kicking back as well.

This is actually what lead me to measuring stack height of plates & coming up with way to set spring tension on used plates, or ones slightly thinner than factory on new play which is not uncommon. Trial & error is too much work.
Don

1973 Tiger 750
T
Britbike forum member
Online Content
Britbike forum member
T