Britbike forum

Classic British Spares Klempf British PartsBaxter Cycle BritBike Sponsor SteadfastCyclesSRM Engineering Lucas Classic Motorcycle Industrial tec supply Hepolite Pistons The Bonneville ShopLowbrow Customs

Upgrade your membership to: Premium Membership | Gold Membership | Life Membership | Vendor Membership | Site Sponsor Membership
Member Spotlight
royaloilfield
royaloilfield
Trenton, New Jersey
ShoutChat
Comment Guidelines: Do post respectful and insightful comments. Don't flame, hate, spam.
Top Posters(30 Days)
quinten 91
Rohan 65
Top Likes Received (30 Days)
quinten 13
Newest Members
vanGinneke, Gearhard, yornocT120R, robert wilby, Jonah A
11,839 Registered Users
Who's Online Now
5 members (Dave Comeau, bill50cal, quinten, TR7RVMan, bsalloyd), 25 guests, and 71 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#564184 09/20/14 9:15 pm
T
Trog Offline OP
Novice poster
OP Offline
Novice poster
T
I'm fairly new to Gold Star ownership having bought my Goldie from a USA seller.It did need a bit of work to sort it out,mostly top end,wiring (it didn't have any) and GP carb issues.I took it out on my local classic bike club rally yesterday and had a bit of a problem with the gearbox.It was working fine until it got hot after about 70km (It was a 30 degree C day).The box stuck in 4th gear and wouldn't change down using my foot,a bit of work with my hands got it into neutral whereupon it shifted back through the gears into 4th again but it then started jumping out of gear every few hundred metres and then sticking in whichever gear I was in.After the bike had stood for a while and cooled down things improved but not back to normal.Sounds like it could could be a lubrication issue even though the box was filled to the correct level,it could also mean wear on the shafts,bushes etc etc.The bike is a 1956 model with a 1961 engine.I think the gearbox is original and is stamped RRT (with no 2) so I presume it doesn't have the Torrington b