Britbike forum

Rim lock or no rim lock?

Posted By: bonneville15

Rim lock or no rim lock? - 07/10/14 6:40 pm

I was wondering if people here are using the Triumph rim locks on their back tires. I am putting a new tire and they told me is alright to leave them out. It is just street use, I do not race my bike. Any advise from the Gurus? It is a 77 Bonneville.

William
Posted By: leon bee

Re: Rim lock or no rim lock? - 07/10/14 7:14 pm

I've put maybe a dozen Brit bikes back on the road in the last few years. Not put a single rim lock back on, and have not had a single problem. I usually grind a new carriage bolt to fit the rim nice to make a fake lock bolt. Opinions differ on this.
Posted By: tri650cc

Re: Rim lock or no rim lock? - 07/10/14 10:42 pm

that's the way I have been doing it since 1973 on dozens of Britbikes have never had one issue with omitting the rim lock.
Posted By: Stuart

Re: Rim lock or no rim lock? - 07/11/14 2:23 am

Hi William,

Ime, people don't have a problem/issue with no rim lock(s) ...

... 'til they have two rear wheel punctures, one on a wheel with rim locks and one without. eek

Assuming they survive the "without", curiously, not only do they never moan about rim locks again, many also wonder how to fit locks to rims without them. :bigt

Ime, if you fit the lock between the rim and the tape and, when fitting or removing a tyre, undo the rim lock nut just to the end of the thread, rim locks aren't any trouble ... and can be a God-send.

Hth.

Regards,
Posted By: Simon750-3

Re: Rim lock or no rim lock? - 07/11/14 2:36 am

You only find out how much you need rim locks when you get a puncture at speed.

As it happens this is exactly what happened to me yesterday at about 45mph.
It squirmed a couple of times and I stopped safely without any problem and the tyre was still on the rim.