Britbike forum

My Rat-Trap of a '71 BSA OIF Lightning

Posted By: celtrock

My Rat-Trap of a '71 BSA OIF Lightning - 01/21/19 4:17 am

Hey folks, nice to meet you all. I've been restoring bikes for a couple of years on my off time at an amateur level. Started with a '67 Triumph Mountain Cub then on to a '75 Suzuki Titan 500. I picked up an A65 roller in 2015 and it sat in my basement up until about a month ago. It's pretty rusty, crusty and quite a project. I'm missing quite a few parts and it doesn't have its original engine but it's made up for by the fact that it comes with 3 grab rails, 2 front wheels, a number of tachs and speedos and 3 motors.

[Linked Image]

Right now I've disassembled it all and I've begun the process of re-assembly.

[Linked Image]

I find that when I go to a bike show my head is much more easily turned, not by the shiny new restos but by the bikes that show their age and their history. My last bike I stripped and powder coated, painted and restored but with this bike I'm leaving it as is. I'm just cleaning, de-rusting, re-greasing, wiping it down with linseed oil, putting in new bearings and rubbers and replacing missing parts best I can. This bike has its original Dove Grey paint and so I thought it'd be fun to leave it. If I ever change my mind I can easily do a repaint but it'd be much harder to do that in reverse!

[Linked Image]

One problem I'm finding is that there are just SO many boxes and so many doubled parts. I keep ordering stuff just to find that I had one at the bottom of a Tupperware at the bottom of a tote. It'd be nice to have someone around who could identify everything for me but the "bike guys" in Vermont tend to be few and far between. I'll just cozy up with a parts book and a giant table and spend a week identifying everything. Oh, and I'll have to look up this serial number:

[Linked Image]

I'll keep record here of my work in case anyone is interested. Cheers!
Posted By: gavin eisler