Britbike forum
Posted By: Hillbilly bike Mikuni TM's and velocity stacks - 02/08/14 8:41 am
I have the new 34 MM Mikuni's mounted on the 650 Triumph. I tried a total intake length from the carb intake to valve of 13 inches....No good, The large TM carbs foul the inside of the rider's knees. The rider has to get his knees out of the wind and being tucked in gives the rider a secure feeling at 120 plus MPH
I was using the same intake length with the 32 MM Concentrics....But shorter intake, and a 3 inch non tapered velocity stack cleared the rider's legs. The bike was competitive set up this way....The Concentrics are crude but very forgiving about intake length and stacks...
Ok,I have no experience with Mikuni's and how they react to velocity stacks...
Anyone have any experience? The bike is going on the dyno next month ...I have jets, different length intakes...But need to get this velocity stack business figured out...And like everything else, I'll have to fabricate the stacks in my little shop of horrors...

[Linked Image]
Posted By: Allan G Re: Mikuni TM's and velocity stacks - 02/08/14 9:07 am
For the 1 cent value of 2c I would be thinking on a different line. (well semi different)

I would personally fit the stacks, a good set of stacks makes a big difference at top end when jetted up to accommodate it.

I would look at making a large airbox under that seat of yours. As large as you can, have the velocity stacks fitted into that. The achieved effect will be the air has a larger area to draw from which isn't being affected by the draft which surrounds it. Otherwise with with just the stacks in open air, the faster you go... the smaller area (which is not effected by the draft) that the carb can draw from.

Alternately have a stack fitted inside a HUGE air filter for each carb.

HTH
Posted By: Hillbilly bike Re: Mikuni TM's and velocity stacks - 02/08/14 9:39 am