BritBike Forum logo
BritBike SponsorBritBike SponsorBritBike SponsorBritBike SponsorBritBike SponsorBritBike Sponsor SteadfastCyclesBritBike SponsorBritBike SponsorBritBike SponsorBritBike SponsorHepolite PistonsBritBike Sponsor
Upgrade to: Premium Membership | Gold Membership | Life Membership | Vendor Membership | Site Sponsor Membership
Member Spotlight
norbsa48503
norbsa48503
Flint,Mich
Posts: 1,947
Joined: February 2004
New BritBike book out!
ShoutChat Box
Comment Guidelines: Do post respectful and insightful comments. Don't flame, hate, spam.
Search eBay for motorcycle parts in following countries
Australia, Canada, France, Holland, Italy, United Kingdom, USA
Random Gallery photo
Manuals on DVD (Shipping included)
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Remote Filter Mounts
#824628 09/24/20 5:50 am
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 4,703
Likes: 33
D
Britbike forum member
OP Offline
Britbike forum member
D
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 4,703
Likes: 33
Made 1.5" and 3" hoop mounts for the remote filter and new top with the ports on the side. This should be more convenient for mounting the return filter on Triumph T120 and OIFs. I have spigots for 5/16" and 7/16" lines. Uses the Hiflo 116 filter.
[Linked Image from live.staticflickr.com]

Support Your #1 BritBike Forum!

Check out British motorcycles for sale: British Motorcycles on e-Bay UK, British motorcycles on e-Bay North America
Re: Remote Filter Mounts
DMadigan #824671 09/24/20 4:44 pm
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 3,794
Likes: 25
I
Britbike forum member
Offline
Britbike forum member
I
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 3,794
Likes: 25
Who makes a spin-on oil filter smaller that the one Nortons use?

The Kawasaki engine on my lawn mower has a smaller one, but is there one even smaller?

If I find one, I will begin work on an adapter to fit it, and for location on a non-oil in frame Triumph,
location to be similar to TR6Ray's set-up.

Re: Remote Filter Mounts
DMadigan #824682 09/24/20 6:21 pm
Joined: Aug 2015
Posts: 1,643
Likes: 17
A
Britbike forum member
Offline
Britbike forum member
A
Joined: Aug 2015
Posts: 1,643
Likes: 17
Morgo https://www.morgo.co.uk/product/morgo-remote-oil-filter-kit-2/#configuration

Here is one fitted to my B31 between the gearbox plates in front of the front mudguard. It is acessible from the top under the ski slope
[Linked Image from live.staticflickr.com]20160321_122720 by Sigma Projects, on Flickr


BSA B31 500 "Stargazer"
Greeves 200 "Blue Meanie"
Greeves 350
Greeves 360
Suzuki GSX1100 EFE "Sorcerers Apprentice"
GM500 sprint/LSR bike "Deofol"
Jawa 500 "Llareggub"
Aprilia RSV Mille "Lo Stregone"
'35 & '36 OK Supreme
Kawasaki ZZR1400 "Kuro no senshi"
Re: Remote Filter Mounts
DMadigan #824689 09/24/20 7:33 pm
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 3,794
Likes: 25
I
Britbike forum member
Offline
Britbike forum member
I
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 3,794
Likes: 25
Andy, what's the diameter of the spin-on filter itself?

Re: Remote Filter Mounts
DMadigan #824747 09/25/20 8:07 am
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 4,582
Likes: 36
B
Britbike forum member
Offline
Britbike forum member
B
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 4,582
Likes: 36
Mower filters are smaller than the CV2 used on most British bike filter mounts.
The Kawasaki & Kohlers are thinner but the Short Tecumseh is he shortest I have on the shelf
Most are of course NP threads
You might find this link helpful Stens oil filters
Stens filters are made by Champion who are the OEM makers for all of the USA made engines that have not gone to Chinese ones .
All are more then good enough for motorcycle use and really cheap, particularly if you can find a mom & pop mower shop who will order the 12 pack for you
If your maching skills are limited then all of the engine makers do an oil cooler take off extension that fits over the original oil filter housing which can easily be modified to fit on a bike with some imagination.


Bike Beesa
Trevor
Re: Remote Filter Mounts
DMadigan #824748 09/25/20 8:10 am
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 4,582
Likes: 36
B
Britbike forum member
Offline
Britbike forum member
B
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 4,582
Likes: 36
Search Gold Star Ron on this forum
He used to make a really well though out spin on filter for pre-unit engines.
And he was kind enough to post sufficient information & photos for those who wanted to do it themselves .


Bike Beesa
Trevor
Re: Remote Filter Mounts
DMadigan #824777 09/25/20 3:34 pm
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 732
Likes: 2
M
Britbike forum member
Offline
Britbike forum member
M
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 732
Likes: 2
David, could you add a side view of these filter adapters. As lazy as I am, I like the spin-ons but I don't think any are as small as the 116 filter and housing. After spending 30+ yrs. cutting open oil filters checking for metal, at least your option would let me look with less work. Any reason I couldn't add AN fittings and use on the pressure side? Thanks, Mark

Re: Remote Filter Mounts
DMadigan #824778 09/25/20 5:39 pm
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 4,703
Likes: 33
D
Britbike forum member
OP Offline
Britbike forum member
D
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 4,703
Likes: 33
Here is a side by side comparison of the triple version (same top but with different port positions) with the spin-on used on the T595 Daytona which I think is about as small as the spin-on filters come. The PPL14476 is 2.88" diameter, 3.25" high.
[Linked Image from live.staticflickr.com]
The triple cartridge filter elements are 5.5" long, these are 2.25" high total.
No problem making AN ports, they are pressed in.

Re: Remote Filter Mounts
DMadigan #824805 09/25/20 9:02 pm
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 3,176
Likes: 8
R
Britbike forum member
Offline
Britbike forum member
R
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 3,176
Likes: 8
...hello: I am very interested to have a new mount; to mount the filter in other location or I will finish removing the filter (but I need to buy another timing cover due to I have a direct feed there)
For a 79 Triumph with side covers; there are no any space. No space behind the covers; no space under the carburetors; no space under the bike.
I have it between the rear wheel and the frame; and there s almost no space and I have been having real problems with this location. One time the filter rubbed out the frame, cut and almost seized the engine.
I have a 20mm thread and a bit concave in the part (Japanese cars etc) and is not so small; I bought a smaller one (Peugeot and others) but that concave part was more straight so leaked.

If you have a real good location for the later bikes; I buy it in no time.

Re: Remote Filter Mounts
DMadigan #824811 09/25/20 10:10 pm
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 5,147
Likes: 57
Britbike forum member
Online Content
Britbike forum member
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 5,147
Likes: 57
Why not put a Charlies filter in the base of the OIF?

Re: Remote Filter Mounts
DMadigan #824821 09/26/20 1:10 am
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 3,176
Likes: 8
R
Britbike forum member
Offline
Britbike forum member
R
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 3,176
Likes: 8
...because I change the oil and filter every 1800km and I do not want to remove those screws several times per year that at some point I will have an stripped thread and that here is very bad. There are no heli coil etc here.
In my opinion that cover is to be removed three or four times in the engine life.

Re: Remote Filter Mounts
DMadigan #824828 09/26/20 4:34 am
Joined: Oct 2008
Posts: 6,633
Likes: 64
Britbike forum member
Offline
Britbike forum member
Joined: Oct 2008
Posts: 6,633
Likes: 64
Screws? It's supposed to have studs, which hopefully stay in place when the nuts are removed. I remove it at every oil change.
I'm tempted to block off the feed pipe and use a Charlie filter. I have a T140 plate available.


Stepping on others doesn't make you stand tall.

71 A65L "Zelda"
92 BMW K100rs "Gustav"
72 T120V cafe project "Mr. Jim"
72 T150V "Wotan"
Re: Remote Filter Mounts
BSA_WM20 #824830 09/26/20 4:40 am
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 1,011
Likes: 52
N
Britbike forum member
Offline
Britbike forum member
N
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 1,011
Likes: 52
Originally Posted by BSA_WM20
Search Gold Star Ron on this forum
He used to make a really well though out spin on filter for pre-unit engines.
And he was kind enough to post sufficient information & photos for those who wanted to do it themselves .


I think he's brown bread mate.

Re: Remote Filter Mounts
NickL #824851 09/26/20 11:00 am
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 4,582
Likes: 36
B
Britbike forum member
Offline
Britbike forum member
B
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 4,582
Likes: 36
Yes I know Ron is long gone ( and deeply missed ) but threads here remain long after we have taken our last ride .
I think he also had a blog page somewhere.

The smallest reasonably priced oil filter isthe Tecumseh / Suburu / Robin one in the afore linked to Stens catalogue page
2 3/4"dia x 2 5/8 high .
Thses fit really nicely in A 7 A 10 tool boxes
NPT Thread
Should be around $ 10 US

The Kawasaki ones are 2 11/16" x 3" high
Should be about $ 7 US a bit cheaper by the dozen ,

Last edited by BSA_WM20; 09/26/20 11:02 am.

Bike Beesa
Trevor
Re: Remote Filter Mounts
DMadigan #824903 09/26/20 8:39 pm
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 4,703
Likes: 33
D
Britbike forum member
OP Offline
Britbike forum member
D
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 4,703
Likes: 33
I mounted the filter on a '76 frame with R3 motor, a little more cramped than a twin. The filter can be mounted under the airbox. If you have the airbox snorkels it may not fit there. It can also be mounted under the swingarm. This frame has a 1-1/4"x3/4" box tube welded to the underside of the swingarm to stiffen it. Without that it could be mounted higher. It also could be rotated around between the swingarm and base plate. There is enough room to remove the cup but not as convenient as behind the backbone.
[Linked Image from live.staticflickr.com]
By the way, these filter run about $3.50.

Re: Remote Filter Mounts
DMadigan #825068 09/28/20 2:00 pm
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 3,176
Likes: 8
R
Britbike forum member
Offline
Britbike forum member
R
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 3,176
Likes: 8
I do not have an space under the covers like you have there. Also I do not see a suitable extra space under the frame too.
Yes I have it behind the backbone between the wheel and the frame but the frame there have a "flat" add that almost touch the filter.
Is it possible to located without that problem? Is the arm enough long to fit on the back bone at that height? Also I do not see a way to fasten there without dismantle even the swingarm et all.

Re: Remote Filter Mounts
DMadigan #825072 09/28/20 2:47 pm
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 4,703
Likes: 33
D
Britbike forum member
OP Offline
Britbike forum member
D
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 4,703
Likes: 33
There is 0.85" (21.6mm) between the cup and backbone. The bracket is 0.54" (13.7mm) thick. Does that help?
Easiest to put the top and bracket around the backbone in a place where inserting the screws is convenient then moving it to the final location and tighten the screws.


Moderated by  Jon W. Whitley 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Home | Sponsors | Newsletter | Regalia | Calendar | Bike Project | BritBike Museum | Spiders Cartoons | DVD- Manuals & Parts books
Upgrade to: Premium Membership | Gold Membership | Life Membership | Vendor Membership | Site Sponsor Membership
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.4