BritBike Forum logo
BritBike SponsorBritBike SponsorBritBike SponsorBritBike SponsorBritBike Sponsor SteadfastCyclesBritBike SponsorBritBike SponsorBritBike SponsorBritBike SponsorHepolite PistonsBritBike Sponsor
Upgrade to: Gold Membership | Premium Membership | Vendor Membership | Site Sponsor Membership
Member Spotlight
kevin
kevin
ohio, usa
Posts: 4,975
Joined: December 2013
ShoutChat Box
Comment Guidelines: Do post respectful and insightful comments. Don't flame, hate, spam.
Search eBay for motorcycle parts in following countries
Australia, Canada, France, Holland, Italy, United Kingdom, USA
Random Gallery photo
a word from..
Manuals on DVD (Shipping included)
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rating: 4
A65 Fork Tubes
#789716 11/10/19 6:21 pm
Joined: Jun 2016
Posts: 136
mrcarb Offline OP
Britbike forum member
OP Offline
Britbike forum member
Joined: Jun 2016
Posts: 136
Hello All,

should the top of the fork tubes on a 69 A65 be even with the top of the triple tree?

Thank you in advance

Support Your #1 BritBike Forum!

Check out British motorcycles for sale: British Motorcycles on e-Bay UK, British motorcycles on e-Bay North America
Re: A65 Fork Tubes
mrcarb #789724 11/10/19 8:04 pm
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 3,540
Likes: 10
Britbike forum member
Offline
Britbike forum member
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 3,540
Likes: 10
Depends if the taper of the tube was machined the correct length.
Generally, they do not come up "even" with the top of the top fork yoke.

Re: A65 Fork Tubes
mrcarb #789728 11/10/19 8:20 pm
Joined: Jun 2016
Posts: 136
mrcarb Offline OP
Britbike forum member
OP Offline
Britbike forum member
Joined: Jun 2016
Posts: 136
Than you Irish Swede. Mine are about .1" (2.5mm) below and cannot get them to come up any further. The reason for removing them was to replace the gaiters. I wonder if they are in far enough and if they will leak.

Re: A65 Fork Tubes
mrcarb #789729 11/10/19 8:43 pm
Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 10,594
Likes: 21
Britbike forum member
Offline
Britbike forum member
Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 10,594
Likes: 21
That must stop before reaching the top, this is to ensure they engage with the taper fully and the assembly is rigid.

Re: A65 Fork Tubes
mrcarb #789760 11/11/19 12:45 am
Joined: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,650
Likes: 3
Britbike forum member
Offline
Britbike forum member
Joined: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,650
Likes: 3
what Komando said ..........the top nut has to bear/lock on the fork yoke NOT the stanchion

having said that 1" below flush on the top yoke does sound excessive .........not a whole lot of taper will actually be engaged with that gap .........are u sure they are the right stanchions?

Last edited by Ignoramus; 11/11/19 12:50 am.

"There's the way it ought to be and there's the way it is" (Sgt Barnes)
Re: A65 Fork Tubes
mrcarb #789772 11/11/19 3:16 am
Joined: Jun 2016
Posts: 136
mrcarb Offline OP
Britbike forum member
OP Offline
Britbike forum member
Joined: Jun 2016
Posts: 136
I am reasonably certain that they are the right stanchions. They are .1" below and not 1" below. What Kommando says makes good sense. I am hoping that they will not leak near the top.

Thank you all for your replies.

Re: A65 Fork Tubes
mrcarb #789776 11/11/19 3:36 am
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 4,939
Likes: 28
Britbike forum member
Offline
Britbike forum member
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 4,939
Likes: 28
Use thread sealant between the top nuts and the stanchions.
0.1" is fine--as Kommando says you don't want the stanchions to come right up to the top of the yokes (triple trees).
HTH

Re: A65 Fork Tubes
mrcarb #789806 11/11/19 3:09 pm
Joined: May 2013
Posts: 6,673
Likes: 19
Britbike forum member
Offline
Britbike forum member
Joined: May 2013
Posts: 6,673
Likes: 19
If you have used a fork pulling tool and the taper on the yoke isn't full of paint then there shouldn't be any issues.


Now let’s all have a beer beerchug

68’ A65 Lightning “clubman”
71’ A65 823 Thunderbolt (undergoing restoration)
67’ D10 sportsman (undergoing restoration)
68’ D14 trials (undergoing transformation)

Re: A65 Fork Tubes
mrcarb #789834 11/11/19 6:28 pm
Joined: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,650
Likes: 3
Britbike forum member
Offline
Britbike forum member
Joined: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,650
Likes: 3
i misread it as 1' not POINT 1 " (usually written 0.1 ) the decimal point is practically invisible on new *hit monitors.

but yep 0.1" is fine, sorry for confusion.


"There's the way it ought to be and there's the way it is" (Sgt Barnes)

Moderated by  Allan G, Jon W. Whitley 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Home | Sponsors | Newsletter | Regalia | Calendar | Bike Project | BritBike Museum | Spiders Cartoons | DVD- Manuals & Parts books
Upgrade to: Gold Membership | Premium Membership | Vendor Membership | Site Sponsor Membership
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.4