BritBike Forum logo
BritBike SponsorBritBike SponsorBritBike SponsorBritBike SponsorBritBike SponsorBritBike SponsorBritBike SponsorThe Bonneville ShopBritBike Sponsor
Upgrade to: Premium Membership | Premium Life Membership | Vendor Membership | Site Sponsor Membership
ShoutChat Box
Comment Guidelines: Do post respectful and insightful comments.
Buy BritBike staff a coffee
Buy BritBike's staff a coffeeStill here since 1996 serving BritBike enthusiasts..
Search eBay for motorcycle parts in following countries
Australia, Canada, France, Holland, Italy, United Kingdom, USA
Random Gallery photo
Member Spotlight
ShearedCrank
ShearedCrank
New York
Posts: 43
Joined: January 2002
Show All Member Profiles 
Newest Members
B. Hunt, JM Ahumada, Michael nelson, [email protected], Bryan Holmes
10823 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
franko 145
NickL 76
DavidP 69
reverb 55
Popular Topics(Views)
972,285 mail-order LSR
a word from..
Forum Statistics
Forums34
Topics67,359
Posts677,164
Members10,823
Most Online14,755
May 5th, 2019
Who's Online Now
68 registered members (AML), 457 guests, and 766 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Torque setting #781704 08/17/19 5:33 am
Joined: May 2009
Posts: 312
P
Paul Sammut Offline OP
BritBike Forum member
OP Offline
BritBike Forum member
P
Joined: May 2009
Posts: 312
Hi all,
I am hoping someone could enlighten me on the proper torque that should be applied to the engine (crankcase) bolts and nuts of a series C Rapide, please. Cannot find the information in the rider’s handbook or in either Richardson or KTB.
Thanks in advance,
Paul.


Paul

'74 Commando - Interstate
"74 Commando - Hi-Rider, possibly
'65 Atlas, mostly anyway
'15 R1200 GS Adv
'51 Vincent Rapide
'58 Ariel Square Four
Support Your #1 BritBike Forum!

Check out British motorcycles for sale:
British Motorcycles on e-Bay UK
British motorcycles on e-Bay North America
Re: Torque setting [Re: Paul Sammut] #781747 08/17/19 2:37 pm
Joined: Aug 2010
Posts: 332
David Dunfey Offline
BritBike Forum member
Offline
BritBike Forum member
Joined: Aug 2010
Posts: 332
Paul,

They should be tight. They are 5/16" so a good firm pull on a 6" or 8" wrench or ratchet handle should be fine. They do not have a history of coming undone. The only concern would be using stainless studs and nuts. If that is the case, you should coat the threads with something to prevent galling. Some use a weak grade of thread locker. I tend to use a lubricant like molybdenum. I tighten them firmly and I have had no issues. More owners have problems with galling than the SS studs loosening.

David

Re: Torque setting [Re: Paul Sammut] #782065 08/20/19 7:38 pm
Joined: May 2009
Posts: 312
P
Paul Sammut Offline OP
BritBike Forum member
OP Offline
BritBike Forum member
P
Joined: May 2009
Posts: 312
As usual, I’m grateful to you, David. I assumed I should use a typical figure for 5/16” bolts, but wasn’t sure of the material from which they are made. Will use your recommended “tight” pull with a wrench.
Paul


Paul

'74 Commando - Interstate
"74 Commando - Hi-Rider, possibly
'65 Atlas, mostly anyway
'15 R1200 GS Adv
'51 Vincent Rapide
'58 Ariel Square Four
Re: Torque setting [Re: Paul Sammut] #782146 08/21/19 3:31 pm
Joined: Aug 2010
Posts: 332
David Dunfey Offline
BritBike Forum member
Offline
BritBike Forum member
Joined: Aug 2010
Posts: 332
Paul,

The stainless steel hardware is mostly non magnetic. Good Luck!

David


Moderated by  John Healy 

Home | Sponsors | Newsletter | Regalia | Calendar | Bike Project | BritBike Museum | Spiders Cartoons | DVD- Manuals & Parts books
Upgrade to: Premium Membership | Premium Life Membership | Vendor Membership | Site Sponsor Membership
BritBike Sponsor
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3